This preview has intentionally blurred parts. Sign up to view the full document

View Full Document

Unformatted Document Excerpt

Statistics 1 121 Schedule for Winter 2011 Flash MWF Lectures: Monday, January 3 Tuesday, January 4 Schedule subject to changeplease check Blackboard daily Thursday, January 6 Friday, January 7 Wednesday, January 5 Lesson 1: Course Syllabus Read Introduction to text and watch Introduction StatTutor video. Both are found at the top of the chapter listings on eBook. Lesson 2: 2.10* Organizing a statistical problem Ch.8 Introduction 9.1 Observation versus experiment Note: 2.10 denotes chapter 2 section 10Lesson 3: 8.1 Population vs. Sample 8.2 How to sample badly 8.3 Simple random samples 8.4 Inference about the population 8.5 Other sampling designs 8.6 Cautions about sample surveys 8.7 The Impact of Technology Wednesday, January 12 Lesson 4: Ch.9 Introduction 9.2 Subjects, factors, treatments 9.3 How to experiment badly 9.4 Randomized comparative experiments Lesson 5: 9.5 The logic of randomized comparative experiments 9.6 Cautions about experiments 9.7 Matched pairs and block designs Commentary: Data ethics Assignment #1 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 1-2 and syllabus) Monday, January 10 Tuesday, January 11 Thursday, January 13 Friday, January 14 Assignment #2 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 3 & 4) 2 Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King Jr. Day No Classes Tuesday, January 18 Deadline for StatsPortal and iClicker registration. Wednesday, January 19 Lesson 6: Ch.1 Introduction 1.1 Individuals and variables 1.2 Categorical variables: pie charts & bar graphs 1.3 Quantitative variables: histograms 1.4 Interpreting histograms 1.5 Quantitative variables: stemplots Lesson 7: Ch.2 Introduction 2.1 Measuring center: the mean 2.2 Measuring center: the median 2.3 Comparing mean and median 2.4 Measuring spread: the quartiles 2.5 The five-number summary & boxplots Lesson 8: 2.6 Spotting suspected outliers 2.7 Measuring spread: st. dev 2.8 Choosing measures of center & spread 2.9 Using technology Assignment #3 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal Wednesday, January 26 Lesson 9: Ch.3 Introduction 3.1 Density curves 3.2 Describing density curves 3.3 Normal distributions 3.4 The 68-95-99.7 rule 3.5 The standard Normal distribution Lesson 10: 3.6 Find Normal proportions 3.7 Using standard Normal table 3.8 Find value given proportion Thursday, January 20 Friday, January 21 Assignment #4 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 5 & 6) StatCrunch website: http://statistics.byu.edu/statc runch/index.html Passcode: BYUStat Add/drop deadline Monday, January 24 Tuesday, January 25 Thursday, January 27 Friday, January 28 Assignment #6 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 8 & 9) Assignment #5 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 7) Introduction StatTutor lesson is found at the top of the chapter list on eBook. StatCrunch website: http://statistics.byu.edu/statcrunch/index.html Passcode: BYUStat 3 Monday, January 31 Exam 1 covers Lesson 1-10 (Chapters 1 3, 8 & 9) Check Blackboard for study guide, practice exam, glossary, etc. 1st day EXAM 1* Tuesday, February 1 Wednesday, February 2 Lesson 12: 4.5 Measure linear association: correlation 4.6 Facts about correlation Lesson 11: Ch. 4 Introduction 4.1 Explanatory and response variables 4.2 Displaying relationships: scatterplots 4.3 Interpreting scatterplots 4.4 Adding categorical variable to scatterplot Lesson 13: Ch.5 Introduction 5.1 Regression lines 5.2 Least-squares regression line 5.3 Using technology Lesson 14: 5.4 Facts about least-squares regression 5.5 Residuals Assignment #7 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 10) 3rd day EXAM 1* Wednesday, February 9 Lesson 15: Ch.5 Influential observation Ch.5 Cautions about correlation & regression Ch.5 Association does not imply causation Lesson 16: Ch.6 Introduction 6.1 Marginal distributions 6.2 Conditional distributions Lesson 18: Ch.10 Introduction 10.1 The idea of probability 10.2 Search for randomness 10.3 Probability models 10.4 Probability rules 10.7 Random variables Assignment #9 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 13) Thursday, February 3 Friday, February 4 Assignment #8 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 11 & 12) LAST day to take Exam 1. Must start before 5 pm & pay $8 late fee 2 day EXAM 1* nd 4th day EXAM 1* $5 late fee Monday, February 7 Tuesday, February 8 Thursday, February 10 Friday, February 11 Assignment #10 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 14 & 15) 1st Block Withdraw Deadline 4 Monday, February 14 Tuesday, February 15 Wednesday, February 16 Lesson 19: Ch.11 Introduction 11.1 Parameters and statistics 11.2 Statistical estimation and LLN 11.3 Sampling distribution Lesson 20: 11.4 Sampling distribution of x 11.5 Central Limit Theorem (StatTutor lesson has 2 parts) Lesson 21: Found only on eBook on StatsPortal 11.6 Statistical Process Control 11.7 x -charts 11.8 Thinking about process control Assignment #11 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 16) Wednesday, February 23 Lesson 22: Ch.14 Introduction 14.1 The reasoning of statistical estimation 14.2 Margin of error and confidence level 14.3 Confidence intervals for a population mean (Watch part I of StatTutor lesson) Review for Exam 2 Thursday, February 17 Friday, February 18 Assignment #12 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 18 and 19) Monday, February 21 Presidents Day No Classes Tuesday, February 22 Monday Instruction Day Thursday, February 24 Friday, February 25 Assignment #14 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 21) Assignment #13 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 20) *Exam 1 covers chapters 1 through 3, 8 and 9. Check Blackboard for study guide, practice exam, glossary, etc. StatCrunch website: http://statistics.byu.edu/statcrunch/index.html Passcode: BYUStat Monday, February 28 Tuesday, March Wednesday, March 2 1 Lesson 23: Exam 2 covers 1-21 Lessons (Chapters 14.3 Confidence intervals for a population mean (Watch 1 11 and 26) part II of StatTutor lesson) 14.4 The reasoning of tests of significance 1st day EXAM 2* Lesson 24: 14.5 Stating hypotheses 14.6 P-values and statistical significance Lesson 25: 14.7 Tests for a population mean (StatTutor lesson has 3 parts) 2nd day EXAM 2* Assignment #15 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 22) 3rd day EXAM 2* Thursday, March 3 Friday, March 4 Assignment #16 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 23 and 24) LAST day EXAM 2. Must start before 5 pm & pay $8 late fee 4th day EXAM 2* $5 late fee 5 Monday, March 7 Assignment #17 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal Tuesday, March 8 Wednesday, March 9 Lesson 26: 14.9 Tests from confidence intervals (found only on eBook on StatsPortal) 15.1 Conditions for inference in practice 15.2 How confidence intervals behave Lesson 27: 15.3 How significance tests behave 15.4 Planning Studies: sample size for confidence intervals Lesson 28: 15.5 Planning studies: the power of a statistical test (Type I and Type II Errors) Assignment #18 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 25) Wednesday, March 16 Lesson 30: Ch. 17 Introduction 17.1 Conditions for inference about a mean 17.2 The t distributions 17.3 The one-sample t confidence interval 17.4 The one-sample t test 17.5 Using technology Lesson 31: 17.6 Matched pairs t procedures 17.7 Robustness of t procedures Lesson 31: Ch. 18 Introduction 18.1 Two-sample problems 18.2 Comparing two population means 18.3 Two-sample t procedures 18.4 Using technology 18.5 Robustness again Thursday, March 10 Friday, March 11 Assignment #19 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 26 and 27) Monday, March 14 Tuesday, March 15 Thursday, March 17 Friday, March 18 Assignment #21 due by 10:00 pm in class or SLC Testing Center (Paper submission) Withdraw Deadline Assignment #20 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 28) 6 Monday, March 21 Tuesday, March 22 Wednesday, March 23 Lesson 32?: Ch.24 Introduction 24.1 Comparing several means 24.2 The analysis of variance F test 24.3 Using technology 24.4 The idea of analysis of variance 24.5 Conditions for ANOVA Lesson 33: pages 502-504 Ch. 19 Introduction p 19.1 The sample proportion End of material on Exam 3 Thursday, March 24 Friday, March 25 Assignment #23 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 32) Assignment #22 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 30 - 31) *Exam 2 covers chapters 1 through 11. Check Blackboard for study guide, practice exam, glossary, etc. StatCrunch website: http://statistics.byu.edu/statcrunch/index.html Passcode: BYUStat Monday, March 28 Assignment #24 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 39) Exam 3 covers Lessons 1-33 (Chapters 1 11, 14 18 and 24) 1st day EXAM 3* Tuesday, March 29 2 day EXAM 3* nd Wednesday, March 30 Lesson 34: 19.2 Large sample confidence intervals for a proportion 19.4 Choosing the sample size 19.5 Significance tests for a proportion Lesson 35: 20.1 Two-sample problems: proportions 20.2 The sampling dist of a difference b/w proportions 20.3 Large-sample CIs for comparing proportions 20.6 Significance tests for comparing proportions Lesson 37: 22.1 Two-way tables 22.3 Expected counts in two-way tables 22.4 The chi-square test statistic 22.5 Cell counts required for the chi-square test Technology Lesson 38: 22.6 Using technology 22.7 Uses of the chi-square test 22.8 The chi-square distributions Assignment #25 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 33) 3rd day EXAM 3* Thursday, March 31 Friday, April 1 LAST day EXAM 3* Must start before 5 pm & pay $8 late fee 4th day EXAM 3* $5 late fee 7 Monday, April 4 Assignment #26 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 34 and 35) Do course evaluation Tuesday, April 5 Wednesday, April 6 Lesson 40: Ch. 23 Introduction 23.1 Conditions for regression inference 23.2 Estimating parameters 23.3 Using technology 23.4 Testing hypothesis of no linear relationship 23.5 Testing lack of correlation 23.6 CI for the regression slope Lesson 41: 23.7 Inference about prediction (StatTutor lesson has 2 parts) 23.8 Checking the conditions for inference Lesson 42: Selecting which procedure to use.swf (found after chapter 25 on the chapter listings of eBook on StatsPortal) Lesson 41: ReviewThe Big Pictureconnect to Lesson 1 Selecting which procedure to use.swf (found after chapter 25 on the chapter listings of eBook on StatsPortal) Assignment #27 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 37) Do course evaluation on route Y Wednesday, April 13 Review for final Thursday, April 7 Friday, April 8 Assignment #28 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lessons 38 and 40) Do course evaluation on route Y Do course evaluation on route Y Do course evaluation on route Y Monday, April 11 Assignment #29 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (covers lesson 41) Do course evaluation on route Y Tuesday, April 12 Thursday, April 14 Friday, April 15 Exam Preparation Day Last Day of Classes Exam Preparation Day Do course evaluation on route Y Assignment #30 due by 11:00 pm on StatsPortal (extra-credit) Saturday, April 16 Take Final in Testing Center. Covers Lessons 1-41 (Chapters 1-11, 14-24) Monday, April 18 Take Final in Testing Center Tuesday, April 19 Take Final in Testing Center Wednesday, April 20 Take Final in Testing Center Thursday, April 21 Take Final in Testing Center Friday, April 22 Graduation *Exam 3 covers chapters 1 through 11, 14 through 18 and 24. Check Blackboard for study guide, practice exam, glossary, etc. Final exam covers chapters 1 through 11 and 14 through 24. Check Blackboard for study guide, practice exam, glossary, etc. Procedure review StatTutor lesson is found at the bottom of the chapter listings on eBook StatCrunch website: http://statistics.byu.edu/statcrunch/index.html Passcode: BYUStat ... View Full Document

End of Preview

Sign up now to access the rest of the document