Africa - Africa Regional Trading Blocs: Gulf Cooperation...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Africa Regional Trading Blocs: Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) African Union (AU) A. Gulf Cooperation Council - Formed in 1980 Members : Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates Primary purpose during formation was to cooperate with the increasingly powerful trading blocks in Europe at the time. Level of Integration - Common Market (citizens can travel freely without visas, permits one nation to own land , property, and businesses in any other member nation without the need for local sponsors of partners) B. Economic Community of West African States - Formed in 1975; restarted in 1992 due to lack of early progress Members : Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote D’ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinee Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togolese (Comprise a large portion of the economic activity in sub-Saharan Africa) Level of Integration - Their goal is to form a Customs Union and eventual Common Market and
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/10/2008 for the course ECON 2310 taught by Professor Rodgers during the Spring '08 term at University of Central Arkansas.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online