{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Weekly Assignment 8 - Five Pillars of Islam are the basic...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Brittney Harris History 111 Connell 15 March 2007 The Smoothed Path The number one thing that identifies a person as a Muslim is the partaking in the five pillars. These pillars mean everything to a Muslim. There are four different types of Islam but they all agree on four important aspects. One question must be answered: what unites the different types of Islam? All four types of Islam have four things in common; they read from the Quran, there is a correct pathway, the tradition of the universal meeting of Muslims, and there is room for a little personal interpretation based on analogy, reason, and good sense. These four qualities that they all share are the basis of their culture. They all believe that the
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Five Pillars of Islam are the basic responsibility for their faith. They also believe that the pilgrimage to Mecca is the most important. The Five Pillars of Islam are; “daily prayer, alms-giving, fasting, and pilgrimage to Mecca.” These five things unite the Islamic faith. The daily prayer is to cleanse the body, the alms-giving is paid “on three things; the produce of cultivated land, gold and silver, and livestock.” Fasting is to give oneself to their religion, and the pilgrimage to Mecca is praise Allah for all that he has done. These different types of religion have many things in common. They all know the basics of being Muslim and are sworn to uphold their bargain....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}