Study Guide Exam 4

Study Guide Exam 4 - Study Guide Exam 4 Chapter 13: Social...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Study Guide Exam 4 Chapter 13: Social Cognition and Moral Development - Theory of mind- the understanding that people have mental states such as desires, beliefs and intentions that these mental states guide their behavior. - Theory of mind is developed through: o Joint attention o Pretend play o Limitation o Emotional understanding o Deliberate deception - Desire Psychology- explanation of behavior in terms of wants or behaviors. - Belief-Desire Psychology- people do what they do because they desire certain things and believe that certain actions will help them fulfill their desires. - Young children seem to be optimists when describing others thinking that negative traits will change to positive ones tomorrow. - Children 7 to 8 children seem to be able to get more below the surface when it comes to describing others. - As children reach age 11 or 12 they use more psychological traits to describe others. - Role taking is the ability to adopt another person’s thoughts and understand their thoughts and feelings in relation to your own. o This is essential in thinking about moral issues from different points of view predicting the consequences of a person’s actions for others and empathizing with others. - The components of moral development are: o Affective- relate to matters of right and wrong. Psychoanalytic theory speaks to the affective component of moral development. Empathy, Pro-social behavior and Support and Criticism. o Cognitive- Deals with the Cognitive Developmental Theory. Moral Reasoning, Universal set of invariant stages. o Behavioral- Deals with the Social Learning Theory. Moral thinking and moral action Moral disengagement - Piaget’s Stages of Moral Development: o Premoral Period- during the pre-school years, children show little awareness or understanding of rules and cannot be considered moral beings. o Heteronomous Morality- Children 6-10 take rules seriously believing that they are sacred or unalterable. o Autonomous Morality- age 10-11, children begin to understand rules as agreements between individuals that can be changed. - Kohlberg’s View: o Level 1: Preconventional Morality Stage 1: punishment and obedience orientation Stage 2: instrumental hedonism o Level 2: Conventional Morality
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Stage 3: Good Boy or Good Girl morality Stage 4: Authority and social-order-maintaining morality o Level 3: Post conventional Morality: Stage 5: Morality of contract, individual rights and democratically accepted law Stage 6: Morality of individual principles of conscience - Empathy- the vicarious experiencing of another person’s feelings. o From age 1 to 2 it is empathy that is believed to be a key motivator of moral behavior. -
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 01/26/2009 for the course HIST 101 taught by Professor Wormer during the Spring '08 term at Baylor.

Page1 / 7

Study Guide Exam 4 - Study Guide Exam 4 Chapter 13: Social...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online