RLST 101 Study Guide

RLST 101 Study Guide - RLST 101 Study Guide Islam: a...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
RLST 101 Study Guide Islam: a monotheistic Abrahamic religion originating with the teachings of Muhammad, a 7th century Arab religious and political figure. The word Islam means "submission", or the total surrender of oneself to God. An adherent of Islam is known as a Muslim, meaning "one who submits (to God)". There are between 1 billion and 1.8 billion Muslims, making Islam the second-largest religion in the world Five Pillars of Islam: the term given to the five duties incumbent on every Muslim. These duties are: 1) Shahadah (profession of faith) 2) Salat (ritual prayer five times each day) 3) Sawm (fasting during Ramadan) 4) Zakat (Islamic tax or tithing) 5) Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca at least once during life). These practices are essential to Sunni Islam . Shi'a Muslims subscribe to eight ritual practices which substantially overlap with the Pillars. The Qur'an does not speak of five pillars, although one can find in it scattered references to their associated practices. Salat: praying five times a day in a prescribed manner it is a form of worship which establishes the link between man and his Creator and Benefactor, Allah. Through 'Salat' a person communes with his Lord, the Creator and the Sustainer of the Universe. In the performance of Salat all the prayers have to be said in Arabic besides reciting some verses of the Holy Quran. Before starting the prayer, a person is required to pay due attention to certain aspects e.g. cleanliness of the body (Ghusal), ablution (Wudu), cleanliness of clothes and the place of prayer. Hadīth A saying or tradition of the Prophet Muhammad Reports on the sayings and the traditions of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) or what he witnessed and approved are called Hadith. These are the real explanation, interpretation, and the living example of the Prophet (s.a.w.) for teachings of the Qur'an. His sayings are found in books called the Hadith books. Unlike the verses contained in the Qur'an, Hadith are the sayings and traditions of Prophet Muhammad himself, and form part of the record of the Prophet's Sunnah (way of life and example). The Hadith record the words and deeds, explanations, and interpretations of the Prophet concerning all aspects of life. Hadith are found in various collections compiled by Muslim scholars in the early centuries of the Muslim civilization. Six such collections are considered most authentic. Qur’an The holy book of Qur'an is called the Qur'an. It was revealed unto Muhammad (s.a.w) from Allah through angel Gabriel (Jibril) for a period of 23 years. There is only one Qur'an in the whole world and it is in Arabic language. The Qur'an has one text, one language, and one dialect. It has been memorized by millions of Muslims in different parts of the world. The Qur'an is composed of 114 Surah (chapters). It is to be read and recited with rules and regulations. When
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/17/2008 for the course RLST 101 taught by Professor Notgoingtotell.. during the Spring '08 term at Beloit.

Page1 / 30

RLST 101 Study Guide - RLST 101 Study Guide Islam: a...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online