Lecture 5-Buddhism

Lecture 5-Buddhism - Lecture 5 I. Buddhism 1 II. III. IV....

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Lecture 5 Buddhism 1 I. Buddhism a. Dharma or Dhamma (Buddhist name for Buddhism) i. Difference between Hinduism and Buddhism is link to teachings 1. Buddhism is derived from the Buddha’s teachings b. Sasana (All practices) c. Liberation from Suffering (Why Buddhism was started) d. Most Buddhists live in southeast Asia e. No real sense of orthodoxy i. Differs everywhere II. Life of the Buddha a. Making of Buddha b. Pali (written language) c. Siddhartha Gautama – 565-486 BCE i. Shakyamuni or Sakyamuni (“prince of the Sakya”) ii. Born near Himalayas 1. Area influenced by Hinduism, but not fully assimilated iii. Raised in luxury; doesn’t know poverty or disease iv. His father focuses on making him the perfect prince 1. Limits his exposure to religion d. The Four Passing Sights i. This was the gods’ way of exposing him to reality because they want to make him a great religious leader ii. Old Age iii. Disease iv. Death v. Ascetic vi. In response, Gautama gives up his life of luxury III. Finding Enlightenment a. Sampling Brahminism i. Bodily asceticism ii. Self-mortification – the mind becomes clear as the body becomes more disciplined 1. Five ascetics join him iii. Wandering mendicant 1. He realizes that self-mortification makes the body weak, and if the body is weak, so is the mind 2. The five ascetics abandon him b. Attaining Enlightenment i. Bodh-gaya 1. The grove he settles in 2. “Grove of enlightenment” ii. Bodhi 1. “enlightenment” 2. His failure is that his desires are attached to the world iii. Suffering 1. The more you want something, the harder it is to attain it iv. Cosmic interpretation 1. Mara (“the evil one”) a. God of desire and death b. Tries to get Gautama to succumb to pleasure i. When that doesn’t work, he goes for pin, but that doesn’t work either c. Becomes the Buddha (“the enlightened one”) i. Free of desire and suffering IV. Four Noble Truths
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Lecture 5 Buddhism 2 a. Truth of Suffering (Dukkha) b. Truth of Arising of Suffering (Samudaya) i. Tanha (desire of everything [love, existence, possessions, etc.]) c. Cessation of Suffering (Nirodha) – End the desire d. Truth of the Path (Magga) i. Eight-fold Path ii. Middle Way – Boils down to “nothing in excess” V. Eight-fold Path a. Right understanding (of Four Noble Truths) b. Right thoughts (detach from desire; think good things) c. Right speech (tell the truth; don’t speak poorly of people; humility; etc.) d. Right action (behave ethically) e. Right livelihood (choose proper occupation that’s ethical) f. Right effort (be persistent in promoting good/preventing evil; make wise decisions) g. Right mindfulness (be aware of senses, thoughts and detach self from them; don’t get distracted) h. Right concentration or meditation (strengthen mental discipline VI. Three headings a. Understanding b. Morals c. Concentration VII. Arahat – Saint VIII. Dharmachakra – wheel of dharma a. Eight spokes represent Eight-fold Path i. No wheel without the spokes
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 11

Lecture 5-Buddhism - Lecture 5 I. Buddhism 1 II. III. IV....

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online