MIS400 HW CH 3

MIS400 HW CH 3 - The hardware and software is acquired...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Dr.Mullen MIS 400 T 2-4:30pm Ch 3 Pg.122 3.1 The four generic stages of the traditional (waterfall) SDLC are analysis, design, implementation and evaluation. Stage 1. System analysis is defining the problem and performing the feasibility studies; technical, economic, legal, operational and a schedule. Along with the feasibility studies, the analyst will look at all the system and business requirements and will suggest alternative solutions if practical. Stage 2 . System Design is the development of both the logical and the physical models. The logical design specifications are going to define what the system will do. The physical design will be our hardware, software and human user. Stage 3. System Implementation is the building of the new system.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: The hardware and software is acquired, installed and coded, training begins, and documentation is written. These are the deliverables. Implementation should be run along the old system to normalize data but it many times is not. Stage 4 . Evaluation is where testing, organizing and maintenance takes place. Testing is to determine if the new system is meeting the requirements for the user, cost and performance. 3.2 The traditional SDLC is also know as the waterfall approach because each stage of development cascades to the next stage, once completed cannot go back with out Herculean effort. Each stage is sequential and must be signed off on before the next one begins....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online