This preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.
This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.View Full Document
Unformatted text preview: Applications of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Contribution margin Revenue Variable Expenses Contribution margin is the contribution to fixed expenses and operating income from the sale of product or provision of service Contribution margin ratio the ratio of contribution margin to revenues (Contribution Margin/Revenues) Example Current Results Results w/ 10% Decline in Revenues Revenues 1,000,000 900,000 Variable Expenses(50%) (500,000) (450,000) Contribution Margin(50%) 500,000 450,000 Fixed Expenses (400,000) (400,000) Operating Income 100,000 50,000 Break-Even Point Analysis Usually expressed as the amount of revenue that must be realized for the firm to have neither profit nor loss. Example Revenue per unit = $20 Management 200T Managerial Accounting and Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 12 Variable expenses = $5/unit Fixed expenses = $100,000...
View Full Document
- Fall '08