Italian Unification

Italian Unification - comprising of half of all Italy, lay...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Italian Unification Italy was a collection of a dozen sizable states, together with a few very small ones. In the northwest lay the Kingdom of Sardinia, better known as Piedmont. Its royal house was the only native Italian dynasty in Italy, and Piedmont would be the guiding state behind Italian unification. In the northeast was Lombardy and Venetia, provinces given to Austria at the Congress of Vienna. In the middle of the peninsula spread the Papal States, the hereditary temporal possessions of the papacy. Further south,
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: comprising of half of all Italy, lay the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies, ruled since 1735 by a branch of the Bourbon family. This territory was better known as Naples. There was a widespread disgust in Italy with the existing authorities, and a growing desire for a liberal national state in which all Italy might be embodied and which might resurrect the Italian grandeur of ancient times and of the Renaissance....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/19/2008 for the course HIS 102 taught by Professor Lindley during the Spring '08 term at Union University TN.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online