Air Force Rank Structure

Air Force Rank Structure - Air Force Rank Structure All...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Air Force Rank Structure All About Air Force Rank and Insignia Insignia identify the rank of each member of the Armed Forces. Members of the Air Force assume a degree of responsibility equal to their rank. The Air Force insignia system is broken down into two major categories: officer ranks and enlisted ranks (the Air Force does not have warrant officers). The enlisted ranks are further divided into Airmen and NCO (Noncommissioned Officer) ranks. Each rank has a pay grade that begins with a letter, "O" for officers and "E" for enlisted. In the Air Force, the enlisted pay grade is always one more than the number of stripes; for example, one stripe designates the pay grade of an E- 2. The following is not an exact anology, as it's not possible to accurately compare the military to a civilian company or corporation. However, it may help you to visualize the differences between airmen, NCOs and commissioned officers. Think of the enlisted member as the worker in a civilian company. The enlisted are the ones who hands-on perform the job. Within the "worker group," NCOs are the foremen and line-supervisors. They perform the job, but also provide direct supervision to the other workers. Senior NCOs (E-7 and above) are assistant managers who came up through the ranks of the corporation. They are valuable as managers because of their many years of experience, but will never make it to the Board of Directors. Commissioned officers are the managers of the company. They have broad areas of responsibility for the management, organization, and efficiency of various departments of the corporation. Senior commissioned officers (generals and admirals) are the board of directors. Enlisted Ranks The insignia for Air Force enlisted personnel (above Airman Basic) consists of a chevron of one or more stripes. The background of the chevron is blue, the stripes are silver with a silver star in the center. The subdued insignia worn on the Battle Dress Uniform (the camouflaged utility uniform) has a green background, dark blue stripes and a dark blue star in the center. There are four airman ranks, and five NCO ranks. Additionally, there is one special NCO rank (Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force), and two NCO "special positions" (First Sergeant, and Command Chief Master Sergeant). The policy for rank and precedence stems from time-honored military customs and traditions. Within the enlisted force, NCOs take rank and precedence over all airmen and other NCOs according to rank. Within the same rank, the date of rank, Total Active Federal Military Service (TAFMS) date, total military service...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/21/2008 for the course REL 110 taught by Professor S.james during the Spring '08 term at Pitt CC.

Page1 / 7

Air Force Rank Structure - Air Force Rank Structure All...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online