lecture6outline(devt2) - PSY120-CAROL DONNELLY Lecture...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
PSY120—CAROL DONNELLY Lecture 6—Tuesday, September 12, 2006 DEVELOPMENT (cont’d) Who is Piaget?? Is the first person to have the most thorough theory of how thinking evolves. Schema: a concept or framework that organizes and interprets information. Assimilate – (maintain schema) Accommodate – (change schema) Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development 1. Sensorimotor = Birth-2 Years **Infant experiences the world through senses and actions (looking, touching) **Object permanence (8-10 months) – just because I don’t see it doesn’t mean it isn’t **stranger anxiety – get anxious about being left alone with a stranger. 2. Preoperational = 2-6 Years 2. Ability to pretend, experimentation 3. Cannot reverse information 4. Egocentric. 5. Cannot understand negative instructions 6. Animism – acting as though nature was alive 7. Artificialism – 8. Realism – difficult for children to differentiate between what is real and what is a dream. Nightmare of monsters but don’t know if it was a dream. i. Trouble with Cause and Effect – 3. Concrete Operational = 7-12 Years **Child thinks logically about concrete events, can grasp concrete analogies and positive analytical operations. **Conservation – Mathematics
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/22/2008 for the course PSY 120 taught by Professor Donnely during the Spring '08 term at Purdue University-West Lafayette.

Page1 / 6

lecture6outline(devt2) - PSY120-CAROL DONNELLY Lecture...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online