Mus4 midterm notes

Mus4 midterm notes - Notated music has five components that...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Notated music has five components that determine what is played: texture (how the various parts intertwine); harmony (the vertical axis and its progression over time); rhythm (duration and organization into strong and weak beat patterns); melody (the horizontal tune or tunes); and form (large-scale organization in terms of repeated, varied or contrasting units). These are all important things to notice about any piece of music. In addition composers can add notations about how the notated music should be performed: dynamics (volume), tempo (speed), timbre (by what instruments or voices), articulation (for example, legato [smooth connections between notes] or staccato [short, individual attacks] ). These are all things we will consider as we consider the history of Western classical music. Greek Epitaph of Seikilos [1 st cent. B.C.] Chant Hildegard von Bingen (1098 – 1179) Ave Generosa [ca. 1150] Organum (though the stress is now sometimes incorrectly put on the second syllable) is a technique of singing developed in the Middle Ages , and is an early form of polyphonic music. In its earliest stages, organum involved two musical voices: a Gregorian chant melody , and the same melody transposed by a consonant interval , usually a perfect fifth or fourth . In these cases often the composition began and ended on a unison , maintaining the transposition only between the start and finish (although see below). Organum was originally improvised ; while one singer performed a notated melody (the vox principalis ), another singer—singing "by ear"—provided the unnotated second melody (the vox organalis ). Over time, composers began to write added parts that were not just simple transpositions, and thus true polyphony was born. Leonin (12
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/28/2008 for the course MUS 4 taught by Professor Mcallister during the Fall '08 term at UCSD.

Page1 / 3

Mus4 midterm notes - Notated music has five components that...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online