Ch 17 timeline

Ch 17 timeline - V A N B U R E N 1836 1840 T Y L E R 1840...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1835-1836: Texas War for Independence – “Lone Star Republic” 1836: The Gag Rule Specie Circular – western land must be paid by hard currency Election of 1836 – Harrison (Whig) defeated by Van Buren (Democrat) 1837: US recognizes the Republic of Texas. Oberlin College enrolls its first women students. Charles Bridge vs. Warren Bridge- only strict interpretation of contract Panic of 1837 – in part due to Jackson’s withdrawal of funds from Bank of U.S. - Van Buren does nothing 1938 – 1839: Aroostook “War” – bloodless – boundary dispute between Maine and New Brunswick 1840: Independent Treasury System – constructs vaults to hold federal money Election of 1840 – Harrison (Whig) defeats Van Buren - Harrison catches pneumonia and dies, VP John Tyler becomes president Democrats Jackson, Calhoun, Van Buren, Benton “Republicans” Against monopolies and privilege Decrease tariff For state rights Whigs Clay, Webster, John Quincy Adams, Harrison
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 02/24/2009 for the course HIST APUSH taught by Professor Bradshaw during the Fall '09 term at Saddleback.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online