8 - MARS 1020 1/30/09 1 Jan 26 Mon Genetics &...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–4. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: MARS 1020 1/30/09 1 Jan 26 Mon Genetics & Reproduction Jan 28 Wed Evolution (1) Jan 30 Fri Evolution (2) Exam-1 Scheduled for Wed., Feb. 18 Feb 2 Mon Seawater Chemistry; The Water Column Feb 4 Wed Ocean Basins; Marine Habitats Feb 6 Fri Adaptations to Life in the Sea (1) Feb 9 Mon Adaptations to Life in the Sea (2) Feb 11 Wed Marine Invertebrates (1) Feb 13 Fri Marine Invertebrates (2) Feb 16 Mon Exam-1 Review Feb 18 Wed Exam-1 (covers 1/9 2/9) Feb 20 Fri TBA EVOLUTION & NATURAL SELECTION (2) MARS 1020 1/30/09 2 Explanations that are Based on empirical evidence What is Science? Review-Based on empirical evidence-Natural (vs. Super-natural)-Falsifiable Evolution o De s cent with Modification Review o Species Change Over Time o New Species Arise from Old Species o Living things share common ancestors MARS 1020 1/30/09 3 1) observation: Exponential Growth 2) observation: ~Constant Population Size Theory of Evolution by Natural Selection Review 5) conclusion: Reproduction of the Fittest NATURAL SELECTION 3) conclusion: Significant (Pre-Reproductive) Mortality...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 03/22/2009 for the course MARS 1020 taught by Professor Binder during the Spring '08 term at University of Georgia Athens.

Page1 / 15

8 - MARS 1020 1/30/09 1 Jan 26 Mon Genetics &...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 4. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online