Politics of American Samoa

Politics of American Samoa - Politics of American Samoa...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Politics of American Samoa '''Politics of American Samoa''' takes place in a framework of a presidential representative democracyrepresentative democratic Dependent territorydependency, whereby the List of American Samoa GovernorsGovernor is the head of government, and of a Wiktionary:pluriformpluriform multi-party system. American Samoa is an unincorporated and unorganized territory of the United States, administered by the Office of Insular Affairs, US Department of the Interior. Its constitution was ratified 1966 and came into effect 1967. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in the two chambers of the legislature. The party system is a copy of the United States party system. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. There is also the traditional village politics of the Samoa Islands, the &quot;faamatai&quot; and the &quot;faasamoa&quot;, which continues in American Samoa and in independent Samoa, and which interacts across these current boundaries. The Fa'asamoa is the language and customs, and the Fa'amatai the protocols of the &quot;fono&quot; (council) and the chiefly system. The Fa'amatai and the Fono take place at all levels of the Samoan body politic, from the family, to the village, to the region, to national matters. The &quot;matai&quot; (chiefs) are elected by consensus within the fono of the extended family and village(s) concerned. The matai and the fono (which is itself made of matai) decide on distribution of family exchanges and tenancy of communal lands. The majority of lands in American Samoa and independent Samoa are communal. A matai can represent a small family group or a great extended family that reaches across islands, and to both American Samoa and independent Samoa. ==Executive branch== office-table President of the United States George W. Bush Republican Party (United States)Republican 20 January 2001 - List of American Samoa GovernorsGovernor Togiola Tulafono Democratic Party (United States)Democrat 26 March 2003 The governor and the lieutenant governor are elected on the same Ticket (election)ticket by popular vote for four-year terms. ==Legislative branch== The '''Legislature''' or ''American Samoa FonoFono'' has two bicameralismchambers. The American Samoa House of RepresentativesHouse of Representatives has 18 members, elected for a two year term, seventeen in single-seat constituencyconstituencies and one by a public meeting on Swain Island. The American Samoa SenateSenate also has 18 members, elected for a four year term by and from the chiefs of the islands. ==Political parties and elections== :''An overview on elections and election results is included in Elections in American Samoa.'' American Samoa governor election, 2004 American Samoa House election, 2006 American Samoa Senate election, 2004 At the 2 November 2004 election Eni F. H. Faleomavaega of the Democratic Party (United States) defeated the Republican Party (United States)Republican candidate and was re-elected. ==Judicial branch== The High Court (chief justice and associate justices are appointed by the United States Secretary of the Interior) ===International organization participation=== ESCAP (associate), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, Secretariat of the Pacific CommunitySPC American Samoa Oceania in topicPolitics of Category:Politics of American Samoa he:פוליטיקה של סמואה האמריקנית fr:Politique des Samoa américaines</text> ...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/30/2008 for the course CS 3304 taught by Professor Chen during the Spring '08 term at University of Houston - Downtown.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online