Chp6 - Chp:6 The Skeletal System (axial division)9/8/2007...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chp:6 The Skeletal System (axial division) 08/09/2007 14:00:00 I. Intro  1) The skeletal system is divided into two divisions: Axial Appendicular  1) Axial skeleton consists of the bones: skull, thorax, and vertebral column. These elements form the longitudinal axis of the body.  There are 80 bones in the axial skeleton. (40% of bones in human) o Skull = 22 bones o o The vertebral column = 24 vertebrae, 1 sacrum, 1 coccyx  o Axial skeleton functions as a framework that supports and protects organs in  the cranial and spinal cavities and the ventral body cavities.  Houses the sense organs (smell, taste, hearing, balance, and sight.  Also provides extensive surface area for muscle attachments:  o Adjusts positions of head, neck, and trunk o Respiratory movements  o Stabilize or position structures of appendicular skeleton.  Permit limited movement but very strong and heavily reinforced with  ligaments.  Also contain red marrow, as well as long bones of the appendicular skeleton.  The Skull and Associated Bones:  2) Cranium surrounds and protects the brain.  Consists of: occipital, parietal, frontal, temporal, sphenoid, and ethmoid  bones.  o These enclose the cranial cavity.  Cranial cavity: a fluid-filled chamber that cushions and supports  the brain. 
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Connected to the inner surface are blood vessels,  nerves, and membranes that stabilize the position of the  brain.  Outer surface provides and extensive area for the  attachment of muscles that move the eyes, jaws, and  head.  3) facial complex  facial bones protect and support the entrances to the digestive and  respiratory tracts.  Superficial bones: maxialle, palatine, nasal, zygomatic, lacrimal, vomer, and  Sutures = boundaries btw skull bones are immoveable joints. There are five  major sutures: lambdiod, sagittal, coronal, squamous, and frontonasal.  o Lambdiod: arches across the posterior surface of the skull, separating  the occipital bone from the parietal bones. One or more sutual bones  maybe found here range in size: grain of sand to size of a quarter.  o Sagittal: begins at the superior midline of the lambdoid suture and  extends anteriorly btw the parietal bones to the coronal suture. 
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/30/2008 for the course BIO 101 taught by Professor Wetherbee during the Spring '08 term at Rhode Island.

Page1 / 8

Chp6 - Chp:6 The Skeletal System (axial division)9/8/2007...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online