Presentation Wed 2 ASEAN

Presentation Wed 2 ASEAN - ASEAN History ASEAN- Association...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
ASEAN History ASEAN- Association of Southeast Asian Nations ASEAN was established August 8, 1967 in Bangkok. The ASEAN declaration was signed by the Foreign Ministers of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. These are the 5 original countries and founders of ASEAN. ASEAN was established in order to promote political & economic cooperation and also regional peace and stability. By becoming alliances these countries will be able to make a greater change in much shorter time than if they were working alone. The declaration stipulated that the association would be open for participation of all states in the Southeast Asia region that will comply with the principles and purposes of the association. The statement that best represents ASEAN is: "the collective will of the nations of Southeast Asia to bind themselves together in friendship and cooperation and, through joint efforts and sacrifices, secure for their peoples and for posterity the blessings of peace, freedom and prosperity.” Brunei joined in 1984, shortly after their independence from the United Kingdom. Vietnam joined in 1995. Laos & Burma also became members of ASEAN. They joined in 1997 during ASEAN’s 30 th anniversary.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 09/01/2008 for the course ECON 335 taught by Professor Seck during the Spring '08 term at CSU Fullerton.

Page1 / 3

Presentation Wed 2 ASEAN - ASEAN History ASEAN- Association...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online