lesson 1 - GOVERNMENT TYPE: Federation (The Russian...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
GOVERNMENT TYPE: Federation (The Russian Federation is a democratic federal rule-of-law state with the republican form of government. The names "Russian Federation" and "Russia" are equivalent.) CAPITAL: Moscow (Moskva) POPULATION: 141,377,752 (6th largest) RELIGIONS: Russian Orthodox and others (no official state religion) STATE LANGUAGE: Russian ETHNIC GROUPS: Russian (81.5%), Tatars (3.8), Ukrainian (3.0), Belarusian (0.8), Other (8.1) LITERACY: 99.6% of total population over age 15 can read and write (95.5% of females and 99.7% of males) LAND AREA: 17,075,200 sq. km. Land: 16,995,800 sq. km. Water: 79,400 sq. km. INDEPENDENCE: August 24,1991 (from Soviet Union) CONSTITUTION: Adopted December 12, 1993 LEGAL SYSTEM: Based on civil law system; judical review of legislative acts VOTING RIGHTS: 18 years old; universal NATIONAL HOLIDAY: Russia Day, June 12th RUSSIAN FLAG The current Russian national flag is more than 300-years old. Tsar Peter the Great originally designed the flag in the late 1600s. The flag was reinstituted on August 21, 1991, after the fall of the Communist Government, and adopted as the National Flag on under Russian federal law. RUSSIAN CURRENCY The ruble is the standard unit of currency in Russia. One ruble is made of of 100 kopeeks. Ruble notes are available in 5, 10, 50, 100, 500, 1,000 and 5,000 denominations. Kopeeks are coins and appear in values of 1, 5, 10, and 50 kopeeks. A one ruble coin is also in circulation. U. S. dollar is equal to approximately 24.5 rubles.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
During 1992-93 the first president of Russia, Boris Yeltsin, had argued that Russia required a new constitution granting the president greater power. The new constitution (December 12, 1999) was designed to create a political system in which a stong president could dominate a presumably divided and uncooperative legislature. The first section declares that the Russian federation is a federative and democratice system, with power divided between the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. EXECUTIVE BRANCH Head of State President: Dmitry Anatol'evich Medvedev Dmitry Medvedev was sworn in as president on May 7, 2008, taking office as Russia's third president since the collapse of the Soviet Union. The chosen successor of former president Vladimir Putin, Medvedev won just over 70% of the vote in presidential elections held in March. As his victory became clear he said that he hoped to work with Vladimir Putin as his prime minister to improve the quality of life for Russians. Dmitry Medvedev is 42 (the youngest of the state leaders in 100 years) and has been associated with Vladimir Putin since the early 1990s when they were both involved in politics in St Petersburg. Dmitry Medvedev is a lawyer by training. He subsequently worked as chairman of Gazprom and as first deputy prime minister in charge of social programmes. Elected to four year terms, the President is empowered to select the prime minister,
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 09/22/2008 for the course RUS 100 taught by Professor Khmelkova,galina during the Fall '08 term at Pennsylvania State University, University Park.

Page1 / 8

lesson 1 - GOVERNMENT TYPE: Federation (The Russian...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online