This preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.
This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.View Full Document
Unformatted text preview: Page 1 Quiz – Chapter 17 – Solution 1. Rider Company sells a single product. The product has a selling price of $40 per unit and variable expenses of $15 per unit. The company's fixed expenses total $30,000 per year. The company's break-even point in terms of total dollar sales is: A) $100,000. B) $80,000. C) $60,000. D) $48,000. The answer is d. CMR = (P-V)/P = ($40 - $15)/$40 = 62.5% Px = F/ (CMR) Px = $30,000/.625 = $48,000 Use the following to answer questions 2-3: Weiss Corporation produces two models of wood chairs, Colonial and Early American. The Colonial sells for $60 per chair and the Early American sells for $80 per chair. Variable expenses for each model are as follows: Colonial Early American Variable production cost per unit....... $35 $48 Variable selling expense per unit ....... 9 8 Total fixed expenses are $39,600 per month. Expected monthly sales are: Colonial, 1,800 units; Early American, 600 units. 2. The contribution margin per chair for the Colonial model is: A) $51. B) $16. C) $35. D) $25. The answer is b. CM = P-V = $60 - $35 - $9 = $16. Page 2 3. If the sales mix and sales units are as expected, the break-even in sales dollars is closest to: A) $132,000. B) $148,500. C) $143,000. D) $139,764....
View Full Document
This note was uploaded on 10/02/2008 for the course MGMT 122 taught by Professor Saouma during the Spring '08 term at UCLA.
- Spring '08