2 - including felonies, in some states these courts hear...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The typical levels of state courts include courts of limited jurisdiction, courts of general jurisdiction, intermediate level appellate courts, and courts of last resort. Courts of limited jurisdiction are criminal courts with trial jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases and preliminary matters in felony cases; sometimes, these courts hold felony trials that may result in penalties below a specified limit. They handle only misdemeanors and lawsuits for small amounts of money. The justices have the authority to issue warrants, hold preliminary hearings, fix and accept bail in all criminal cases except those involving murder and voluntary manslaughter, and hear cases in which the amount is under $8000. Courts of general jurisdiction criminal courts with jurisdiction over all offenses,
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: including felonies, in some states these courts hear appeals. Jury trials and judges impose prison sentences are type of cases handled. Intermediate level appellate courts handle claims by defendants of errors that were made by the police or the trial court that contributed to their conviction. Besides handling appeals of decisions made by state and local administrative agencies they also interpret state laws and local ordinances. Court of last resort also called the state Supreme Court that handles further appeals. Unlike the appellate courts it has discretion as to which cases to hear. It may dismiss appeals without giving any reason....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 03/19/2008 for the course ADM J 111 taught by Professor Staff during the Fall '06 term at Penn State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online