Course Review(2).pptx - OMGT2199 Operations Management...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–10. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1 OMGT2199 - Operations Management Course Review
Image of page 1

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
2 Dear Students, The questions discussed in the following slides are just for reviewing the course topics and provide you with better preparation for the final exam. Please be advised that for the final exam you must refer to ALL topics that have been discussed in the lectures and tutorials. A full exam paper is uploaded on the Blackboard. Please do not rely merely on the sample questions in these slides or the sample exam paper. Final Exam RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 2
3 Final Exam SECTION A: Answer ALL of the following FOUR (4) Questions. Each question 10 marks. Total 40 marks. SECTION B Answer ALL of the following FIVE (5) questions. Total 60 marks. Show all calculations. Use two decimal places for all calculations. See Formula Sheet on the Bb RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 3

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
4 Operations management (OM) is the set of activities that create value in the form of goods and services by transforming inputs into outputs Goods and Services RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 4
5 Productivity Measures Productivity is the ratio of outputs (goods and services) divided by the inputs (resources such as labor and capital) RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017 Capital Output ; Labor Ouput ; Input Single Output ity Productiv Partial Input Output = ty Productivi Energy + Capital + Labor Output ; Machine + Labor Ouput ; Inputs Multiple Output vity r Producti Multifacto
Image of page 5

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
6 Productivity Q1 A bakery bakes 375,000 breads each year. A worker works 40 hours per week. The bakery aims to have a labour productivity of 45 bread per labour hour. How many worker is needed to achieve the productivity? RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 6
7 Productivity Q2 A firm cleans chemical tank cars in the Bay St. Louis area. With standard equipment, the firm typically cleaned 70 chemical tank cars per month. They utilized 10 gallons of solvent, and two employees worked 20 days per month, 8 hours a day. What was their raw material and their labor productivity with the standard equipment? Interpret. RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 7

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
8 Productivity Q3 Alex grows crop in his 100 by 100 meter garden. He then sells the crop at the local farmers' market. Two summers ago, he was able to produce and sell 1200 kilos of crop. Last summer, he tried a new fertilizer that promised a 50% increase in yield. He harvested 1900 kilos. Did the fertilizer live up to its promise? RMIT University Vietnam 6/16/2017
Image of page 8
9 Forecasting Approaches o Qualitative Forecasting o Quantitative Forecasting Time-Series Associative Forecasting Techniques Forecast Accuracy Metrics RMIT University Vietnam 9 Forecasting 6/16/2017 n t t Forecast Actual MAD 2 t t 1 Forecast Actual MSE n n 100 Actual Forecast Actual MAPE t t t
Image of page 9

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 10
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern