{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Bio Lab 1st Essay Archaea - Methanogens the second group...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Three Types of Archaea There are three different types of Archaea. These types are Halophiles, Methanogens, and Extreme Thermophiles. All of these are organisms that are able to live in the Earth’s most extreme environments. These three groups are each able to live in completely different locations. The first of the groups of discussion, Halophiles, are able to live in environments consisting of a high salt concentration, hence the name; Halo, meaning salt, and philes, meaning lover. This type of Archaea survives well in lakes and bodies of enclosed salt water. They can be found in the Great Salt Lake, the Dead Sea, and on the surface of salted food products such as meat or fish. Like a car battery, Halophiles are able to generate energy through synthesizing a protein pigment in their cell membrane.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Methanogens, the second group, are organisms with the ability to convert carbon dioxide into methane. Methanogens are most commonly found living in areas including swamps, hot springs, vent communities, and even the stomachs of cows. Methanogens are obligate anaerobes meaning they are only able to grow in an environment that is completely free of oxygen. Extreme Thermophiles are a type of Archaea that live in extremely high temperatures. They live in 133 degree Fahrenheit temperatures or greater. They also live in acidic environments. They are often found in places like sulfur springs and coal refuse piles. Hyperthermophiles live in even higher temperatures such as boiling water which is 212 degrees Fahrenheit and higher....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online