12_Presentation_22_08_2016.pdf - Namami Gange Programme...

This preview shows page 1 - 6 out of 19 pages.

Image of page 1
Namami Gange Programme National Mission for Clean Ganga -> Implementation wing of National Ganga River Basin Authority (NGRBA). Registered society originally formed by Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change(MoEFCC) on 12th August 2011 under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. Program Management Groups (SPMGs) established for effective implementation of the projects In May 2015, Government of India approved the Namami Gange program with an outlay of Rs.20,000 crore for a five year period as a 100% centrally financed program The Vision for Ganga Rejuvenation constitutes restoring the wholesomeness of the river defined in terms of ensuring Aviral Dhara (Continuous Flow), Nirmal Dhara (Unpolluted Flow”), Geologic and ecological integrity .
Image of page 2
Total Length : 2525 km Uttarakhand : 450 km UP : 1000 km Sharing length : 110 km ( UP Bihar) Bihar : 405 km Jharkhand : 40 km West Bengal : 520 km Catchment Area : 8,61,404 km 2 Population : 46% of India’s total Main Tributaries : Ramganga, Kali-East, Yamuna, Gomti, Ghaghara, Gandak, Kosi, & Damodar Basin covers 11 states viz., Uttarakhand, U.P., M.P., Rajasthan, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, West Bengal and Delhi. The current focus on five major states on the main stem of river namely Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Bihar and West Bengal. Ganga Overview Patna Varanasi Allahabad Kanpur Kannauj Narora Joshimath Gangotri Haridwar Kolkatta Ganga basin - largest river basin in India in terms of catchment area
Image of page 3
Sources of Pollution
Image of page 4