plugin-Buddhism%20handout - Buddhism Siddhartha Gautama(~...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Buddhism Siddhartha Gautama (~ 560-480 BC) a.k.a. ‘Shakyamuni’ Privileged birth: protected from all suffering The “four sights”: old age, sickness, death, asceticism. Becomes a hermit, pursues meditation Middle way: detachment from asceticism Realizations: past lives, stages of enlightenment, nibbana . 1 Four Noble Truths (Realities) The truth of Dukkha (Suffering, Dis-ease) Birth, aging, illness, death, desire, the self are suffering. Or rather: illness thought of as mine , death thought of as mine , etc. The truth of Tanha (Clinging) Suffering is due to attachment, grasping, clinging, craving The truth of Nirodha (Cessation) Cessation of suffering can be achieved: this is Nibbana (Sanskrit: Nirvana ) The truth of Marga (the Way) The way to enlightenment is the Noble Eightfold Path. The four noble truths can be thought of in medical terms as: i. recognition of symptoms; ii. diagnosis; iii. understanding the cure; iv. treatment. Three marks of all existence and all experience:
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 06/01/2009 for the course PHIL 155g taught by Professor Manley during the Spring '08 term at USC.

Page1 / 2

plugin-Buddhism%20handout - Buddhism Siddhartha Gautama(~...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online