buddhist terms

buddhist terms - Buddha enlightened being supernatural"The...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Buddha : enlightened being, supernatural ("The" Buddha is a Siddhartha) Significance - he started Buddhism and was enlightened Mara : 'demon' that personifies temptation Significance - in Life of the Buddha mara tries to lead him awry by throwing rocks at him and tempting him. Buddha does not succumb to these temptations and wins. Anatman : refers to the 'non-self', there is no eternal self or soul Significance - impermanence Sakyamuni: the Buddha Samsara : the cycle of rebirth, reincarnation Significance - encourages people to do good in order to escape the cycle, improving your karmic legacy will help this Karma: results of your actions, good or bad - all activities, ethical conquences Significance - explains how good things happen to people, good karma results in moksa Nirvana : enlightenment, ultimate goal, when one has no greed, hate, desires, etc, escaping samsara Significance : it is the ultimate goal of Buddhists Sramana : ascetic monk Guatama Siddhartha : the Buddha, aka Sakyamuni Four Sights : death, old age, sickness and an ascetic/monk Significance - shown to Siddartha by the gods, it is what lead to him to decide to become a sramana and seek knowledge/enlightenment The divine eye/eye of omniscience : last of 10 perfections, bodhisattva will attain this right before Nirvana. A state when one can see all of one's past live and the past lives of others, can finally understand samsara. Mentioned in Buddha Carita and King Shiva Four Noble Truths : 1. Suffering - all life is suffering, the reason all life is suffering is that everything is always in flux. This impermanence causes it. As soon as we get attached to something, it changes 2. Thirst - desire/craving to satisfy our sensory organs; thirst to fulfil desires which leads to suffering 3. Nirvana - a particular version of moksa, the elimination of thirst/craving for pleasure 4. The 8-Fold path - specific things to do to control our desires/thirst/craving for pleasure Eightfold path : 1. Right view
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
2. Right thought 3. Right speech 4. Right action 5. Right livelihood 6. Right effort 7. Right mindfulness 8. Right concentration The Ten Perfection s: Mahayana practice, attached to the 10 bodhisattva stages 1. giving 2. morality 3. forbearance 4. effort 5. meditation 6. wisdom (that discerns the inner principle of things) 7. expedient means 8. the vow (to attain enlightenment) 9. one's powers 10. omniscience Five aggregates (Skandha ): means 'accumulation,' all existence, including our own, lies in the relationship of the five. Suffering arises when on identifies/clings to an aggregate 1. form or matter (external and internal), 2. feeling/reception 3. perception/recognition 4. impulse/constructing activities (karmic activity) 5. consciousness. Six Realms or rebirth
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 6

buddhist terms - Buddha enlightened being supernatural"The...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online