lecture_14_notes - Life cycles Most "large"...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Life cycles Most "large" eukaryotes are diploid Chromosomes have unique characteristics In the plant Arabidopsis, there are five chromosome types: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Each chromosome is characterized by its size, position of centromere (the constriction) and sequence. Staining with certain substances reveals zones (stripes). Diploid cells have two chromosome of each type: for Arabidopsis, two 1, two 2, etc, total = 10 The two chromosome are defined as homologous and referred to as homologs Diploidy is defined as a 2N stage, where N is the gametic chromosome number The two chromosomes of a type are identical or nearly identical, depending on the species and its mating habits Diploid cells cannot mate (fusion of male and female cell) because that would cause the progeny to have double the chromosome number So, diploid organisms like animal and plants produce specialize cells, the gametes that have only 1 copy of each chromosomes. This genetic make-up is called haploid Gametes and some small eukaryotes are haploid Haploid cells have one chromosome of each type. For Arabidopsis, total = 5 Haploid cells can mate. The resulting cell is diploid as the chromosome number is doubled
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 06/07/2009 for the course BIS BIS2A taught by Professor Lucacomai during the Spring '09 term at UC Davis.

Page1 / 2

lecture_14_notes - Life cycles Most "large"...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online