THE 2 - THE 2 1 Identify at least three federal law...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
THE 2 1. Identify at least three federal law enforcement systems and describe in detail their make up and the limits of their jurisdiction. (Pgs 135-146) The three federal law enforcement systems are the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI), the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The FBI is the largest federal police agency. This growth is attributed to many laws passed by congress that have widened the FBI’s jurisdiction, such as the Mann Act in 1908, the prohibition laws of the 1920s, and the Fugitive Felon Act of 1934. The FBI was also designated collector and disseminator of crime statistics nationwide, known as the Uniform Crime Reports. Today the FBI focuses mainly on organized crime, street gangs, drug groups, and above all counterterrorism. The DEA was established in 1973 and is the primary federal agency responsible for the enforcement of federal laws concerning the use, sale, and distribution of narcotics and other controlled substances in the USA. It assists foreign governments with programs intended to reduce the availability of illicit drugs, through such measures as the eradication of crops from which drugs are derived, crop substitutions, and the training of foreign officials. Other responsibilities include the investigation of drug seizures by the U.S. Customs agents at border points and the regulation of the distribution of legal narcotics and drugs. The DHS is the newest yet largest law enforcement system. In 2003, Tom Ridge was sworn in as the first secretary of this department within the U.S. designed to address many questions such as “how should a host of federal law enforcement agencies develop and share crucial intelligence?” or “how much should filter down to municipal police departments?” Charged with coordinating the work of both intelligence and security agencies, DHS has five divisions or directorates: 1. Border and Transportation Security, 2. Emergency Preparedness and Response, 3. Science and Technology, 4. Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection, and 5. Management. Besides the five directorates of the DHS, several other critical agencies have been moved into the new department or are being newly created: The United States Coast Guard, United States Secret Service, Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, Office of State and Local Government Coordination, and Office of Private Sector Liaison. 2. Identify the three police management styles noting their differences and explain what you believe to be the best approach in a given jurisdiction such as State College. (Pgs 156-157) James Q. Wilson found three kinds of police management styles: watchman, legalistic, and service. He said that each one reflected how police make decisions, as well as the special interest of the police chief, the style of government, and expectations in the particular community. In the watchman style, there is a concentration on the order maintenance function
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/01/2008 for the course CLJ 111 taught by Professor Texidor,joseluis during the Spring '07 term at Penn State.

Page1 / 7

THE 2 - THE 2 1 Identify at least three federal law...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online