syllabus - Professor: Dylan Riley Course: 101A Venue: 145...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Professor: Dylan Riley Course: 101A Venue: 145 Dwinelle Semester: Fall 2007 E-mail: riley@berkeley.edu Office Phone: 510-642-5225 Office Hours: 12:00-2:00 Thursdays * Office: 490 Barrows Graduate Student Instructors Andrew Kohnen: akohnen@calmail.berkeley.edu Eli Friedman: elidf@calmail.berkeley.edu Gokahn Irfanoglu: gokhan@calmail.berkeley.edu Paul Hathazy: hathazy@calmail.berkeley.edu Mike Levien: mlevien@calmail.berkeley.edu Laura Nelson: lknelson3@calmail.berkeley.edu Gabe Hetland: ghetland@calmail.berkeley.edu This course introduces the classic works of social theory. By "classical social theory" I mean an explanation of the causes and consequences of the "division of labor in society." Marx, Weber, Durkheim, and Michels all argue that modern societies possess a complex interdependent division of social roles (a division of labor) that they contrast with "pre- modern" societies where this division was less developed. They then ask, "What are the causes and consequences of the division of labor?" In answering this question, each thinker develops a "theory of history" -- that is, a broad understanding of how modern societies came to be, and what they are likely become in the future. In this class you will learn to understand, compare and contrast these different accounts of social change. In the process you will developed a broad understanding of the distinctive problems and possibilities of modern societies. Your grade is based on four pieces of work. Quiz (Multiple Choice): 10% Section Participation: 20% Mid Term: 30% Final: 40% The readings are included in the five books that you need to purchase for the class. These are available in the bookstore. They are:
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 5

syllabus - Professor: Dylan Riley Course: 101A Venue: 145...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online