{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}


5-part2-development - Erikson's stages or ages of human...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Sheet1 Page 1 Erikson's stages, or ages, of human development. Erikson divided the human life span into eight stages, each with its own social and emotional conflicts. In this way, he sought to provide a model of why people behave the way they do, given the decisions that they are facing according to age. When a particular conflict is resolved in a positive and constructive manner, the person moves into the next stage in a psychologically healthy state. If the conflict is not resolved, the negative effects can carry over into future stages, they also have a detrimental effect on the challenges that are yet to be faced. Erikson's Stages of Human development. Ages zero to one. The infant begins to face the issue at hand. Is my social world predictable and supportive? The main conflict of infancy is. Basic trust versus basic mistrust. Ages one to three. The toddler asks the question. Can I do things for myself or must I always rely on others to help me? The main conflict of toddlerhood is Autonomy versus shame and doubt. Ages three to six. The preschooler needs to figure out.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}