Psych 101 test review 2

Psych 101 test review 2 - Psych 101 Exam 2 Study Guide 1.)...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Psych 101 Exam 2 Study Guide 1.) Developmental psychologists physical, cognitive, and social change throughout the lifespan. 2.) Prentatal development is the period of development before birth. a. During the first week after conception the zygote (fertilized egg) has gone through many cell divisions. There are about 100 some cells that begin to differentiate to specialize in structure and function. After 10 days the zygote attaches to the mother’s uterine wall, forming the placenta. The zygote now becomes the embryo. By about 9 weeks the embryo looks human, now called the fetus. During the sixth month organs form. 3.) Teratogens are harmful agents such as certain viruses and drugs. FAS is known as Fetal Alcohol Syndrome which a fetus gets is the mother is a heavy drinker. FAS is characterized by a smell, disproportioned head, and lifelong brain abnormalities. It is also the leading cause if mental retardation. 4.) The rooting reflex is the babies need for food, so if you touch a baby on the cheek it will turn toward the direction that it was touched with its mouth open looking for some food. Other things that babies prefer are sights and sounds that facilitate social responsiveness. We turn our heads in the direction of human voices, and gaze longer at pictures that resemble a human face. We prefer to look at objects that are 8 to 12 inches away from our face. Babies prefer the scent of their mothers, and their mother’s voice. 5.) During infancy we form nerve cells, and neural networks that enable us to walk, talk, and have a growth spurt. The last areas of the brain to develop are the areas that deal with thinking, memory, and language. 6.) Habituation is decreasing responsiveness with repeated stimulation. As infants gain familiarity with repeated exposure to a visual stimulus, their interest wanes and they look away sooner. 7.) A schema is a mental mold into which we pour our experiences. Schemas organize and interpret information. 8.) Assimilation is when we interpret a new experience in relation to an existing schema. Accommodation is when we realize that new concepts don’t fit in with an existing schema, and we have to adapt to make a new schema or modify an old one. 9.) Piaget’s 4 stages of cognitive development: a. Sensorimotor stage: Lasts from birth to age two. Babies take the world in from their sensory and motor interactions with objects looking, hearing, touching, mouthing, and grasping. Babies live in the present. i.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/01/2008 for the course PSY 101 taught by Professor Jackson during the Spring '08 term at Michigan State University.

Page1 / 5

Psych 101 test review 2 - Psych 101 Exam 2 Study Guide 1.)...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online