{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

INDV notes 10-26-06

INDV notes 10-26-06 - Habitual until bored – then test...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
October 26, 2006 Jean Paiget- Proposed four stages of cognitive development 1- Sesorimotor stage – birth to 2 years old o Object permanence occurs around age of six months 2- Preoperational stage - 2 years old to 6 years old o Conservation task Egocentrism: inability for a preoperational child to take another point of view 3- Concrete operational stage - 7 years old to 11 years old o Has not acquired abstract, formal reasoning 4- Formal operational stage - 12 years to adulthood o Begin to acquire abstract, formal reasoning Method of habituation : Used to measure infant’s ability to discriminate between objects o Dependant variable: looking time
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Habitual until bored – then test stimuli → Method of preferential looking : also used to measure infant’s abilities o Example: visual acuity → Post Piaget Cognitive development findings o Babies as young as 1-month-old appear to have mental representations of objects o Babies at 5-months-old have demonstrated knowledge of number and even addition/subtraction Independent variable: whether event is possible or impossible Dependant variable: looking time o 3-years-old have demonstrated ability to manipulate symbolic representations (models) of physical spaces...
View Full Document

  • Fall '07
  • Walker
  • Theory of cognitive development, Neo-Piagetian theories of cognitive development, Piaget Cognitive Development, Jean Paiget- Proposed

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online