OverviewOfTheNervousSystemNarrative - Overview of the...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Overview of the Nervous System – Podcast Narrative The nervous system is divided into two main subdivisions: The central nervous system and the peripheral nervous system. The central nervous system includes the spinal cord and brain. Here you see the brain and the spinal cord shown in red. The peripheral nervous system, shown in blue, consists of the nerves going from the spinal cord to the rest of the body and the nerves coming into the spinal cord from the rest of the body. The peripheral nervous system is itself divided into two subdivisions: The first is the skeletal system, which brings sensations from the body into the central nervous system and sends commands from the central nervous system out to the voluntary muscles. The other component of the peripheral nervous system is the autonomic nervous system. The autonomic nervous system regulates a number of the body’s internal organs through two separate subdivisions. These two divisions typically work in opposition to one another like the accelerator and the brakes in a car.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 09/30/2009 for the course PYSCH 101 taught by Professor Kowler during the Spring '08 term at Rutgers.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online