{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

f2009.busmis.1060.midterm.review.thursday.updated

f2009.busmis.1060.midterm.review.thursday.updated -...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–13. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style  10/16/09 Review for Midterm BUSMIS 1060 – Introduction to IS Dr. Russ Robbins
Image of page 1

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 10/16/09 Extra Credit Opportunity on 10/17 or 10/18. If you have sent me an email and I have not  responded, please accept my most sincere  apology, and please resend. I found a small set of individuals’ emails in my junk email  folder and when I moved them to my inbox they  disappeared. Please re-email if you need to. I’ve moved my junk email settings from “low” to “none” so  Annoucements
Image of page 2
 10/16/09 Sample Exam to show you the most difficult types  of questions that you will see. Finish Review E-Commerce Lecture Agenda
Image of page 3

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 10/16/09 Seeing the Need Making It Happen Understanding the Language Using IT Course Learning Objectives
Image of page 4
 10/16/09 Recognize ways of using systems to increase  efficiency, improve performance, and support  innovation. Identify key technologies and vendors Locate activities and processes that would benefit  from the application of information systems Evaluate the fit between business needs and  system capabilities Course Objectives:  Seeing the Need
Image of page 5

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 10/16/09 Craft strategies for successfully applying  information systems to create business value Make the business case for introducing a new  system into an organization  Identify the challenges that threaten the successful  application of information systems Determine ways of mitigating the risks associated  with system implementation efforts Course Objectives:  Making it Happen
Image of page 6
 10/16/09 Understand key terminology used in the world of  information technology Recognize and visualize the various systems used in  organizations More effectively serve as a liaison between business  interests and technologists Course Objectives:  Understanding the Language
Image of page 7

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 10/16/09 Apply information systems in your own  work to support more effective analysis,  decision-making, and communication. Use key personal productivity tools  Select the proper technology for your personal  or departmental use Interact effectively with technology  professionals and vendors Course Objectives: 
Image of page 8
 10/16/09 Seeing the Need Making It Happen Understanding the Language Using IS Course Learning Objectives
Image of page 9

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 10/16/09 Review Topics Seeing the Need Components of Information  Systems Porter’s Five Forces Run/Grow/Transform Top vs. Bottom Line Value Chain Business Activity Analysis & Opportunity Identification Understanding the  Making It Happen Making a Business Case Total Cost of Ownership Relational Databases Primary/Foreign Keys Entities Integrity Constraints Using SQL Select, From, Where Data Warehouses
Image of page 10
Click to edit Master subtitle style  10/16/09 But don’t forget to review E- Commerce Slides
Image of page 11

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style  10/16/09 Seeing the Need: Components of Information  Systems
Image of page 12
Image of page 13
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern