This preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.
This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.View Full Document
Unformatted text preview: Break-even point in dollars using the contribution margin ratio: Fixed costs / CM ratio $150,000 / 40% = $375,000 (d) Break-even point in units using the unit contribution margin: Fixed costs / CM per unit $150,000 / $20 = 7,500 units (e) Margin of safety (% and dollars): Sales (Sales @ Breakeven) / Sales $550,000 ($375,000) / $550,000 $175,000 / $550,000 = 32% (sales can drop before it affects operating income) = $175,000 (sales can drop before it affects operating income) (f) Number of units that must be sold to earn net income of $100,000 Fixed costs + Target Profit / CM per unit $150,000 + $100,000 / $20 = 12,500 units Proof below: Sales (12,500 units) $ 625,000 (Variable Costs (12,500 units)) $ (375,000) Contribution Margin $ 250,000 (Fixed Costs) $ (150,000) Operating Income $ 100,000...
View Full Document
- Summer '08