CscsHistory - HistorySocial Science Content Standards for...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
History–Social Science Content Standards for California Public Schools Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
ii Publishing Information When the History–Social Science Content Standards for California Public Schools, Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve was adopted by the California State Board of Education on October 9, 1998, the members of the State Board were the following: Yvonne W. Larsen, President; Robert L. Trigg, Vice-President; Marian Bergeson; Timothy C. Draper; Kathryn Dronenburg; Marion Joseph; Marion McDowell; Janet G. Nicholas; Gerti B. Thomas; Marina Tse; and Richard Weston. This publication was edited by Bob Klingensmith, working in cooperation with Greg Geeting, Executive Director, and Gregory F. McGinity, Education Policy Consultant, State Board of Education. It was designed and prepared for printing by the staff of CDE Press, with the cover and interior design created and prepared by Cheryl McDonald. Typesetting was done by Jamie Contreras. It was published by the Department of Education, 721 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, California (mailing address: P.O. Box 944272, Sacramento, CA 94244-2720). It was distributed under the provisions of the Library Distribution Act and Government Code Section 11096. © 2000 by the California Department of Education All rights reserved ISBN 0-8011-1488-8 Special Acknowledgment The State Board of Education extends its appreciation to the members and staff of the Commission for the Establishment of Academic Content and Performance Standards (Academic Standards Commission) for their outstanding work in developing and recommending the history–social science content standards to the State Board of Education under the provisions of Education Code Section 60605. The members and executive staff of the Academic Standards Commission at the time of the approval of the draft history–social science content standards were the following: Ellen Wright, Chair*; Robert Calfee, Vice-Chair*; Mike Aiello; Joseph Carrabino; Judy Codding*; Daniel Condron; Linda Davis; Bill Evers; Tony Fisher; Jerilyn Harris; Dorothy Jue Lee; Mark Ortiz; Judith Panton*; Raymund Paredes*; Alice Petrossian*; Glenn T. Seaborg; Kate Simpson*; Lawrence Siskind*; Jerry Treadway*; LaTanya Wright*; Delaine Eastin, State Superintendent of Public Instruction; Sonia Hernandez, the Superintendent’s Designee; Scott Hill, Executive Director; Sheila Byrd, Deputy Executive Director; Sue Pimentel, Senior Standards Advisor; and Ellen Clark, Consultant. Note: The asterisk (*) identifies those members who served on the Academic Standards Commission’s History–Social Science Committee. Special commendation is also extended to the leadership of Lawrence Siskind, Chair of the Academic Standards Commission’s History–Social Science Committee; State Board of Education member Marion McDowell; Kirk Ankeney, Chair of the Curriculum Development and Supplemental Materials Commission; and Tom Adams, Consultant, Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources Office, whose significant contributions to this document deserve special recognition.
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/19/2009 for the course ED 21086 taught by Professor Jeanmitchell during the Spring '09 term at California State University , Monterey Bay.

Page1 / 69

CscsHistory - HistorySocial Science Content Standards for...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online