BIBC102 - BIBC102 Winter Quarter 2010 Metabolic...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: BIBC102 Winter Quarter 2010 Metabolic Biochemistry Instructor: Lectures Yunde Zhao ([email protected], 858-822-2670) MWF 10-10:50 am , PETER 108 Office Hours: Wednesdays and Fridays, 11 am–12 pm, 5258 Muir Biology Building Course webpage: http://www.biology.ucsd.edu/classes/bibc102.WI10 You need login info to access the page (Username: bibc102wi10, Password: EggNog2) EXAMS: There will be two midterm exams and one Final. The first Mid-term will worth 20%, the second midterm worth 30%, and the final worth 50% of your grade. Neither your midterm scores nor your final exam score can be dropped (i.e. all three scores will be included in your final grade), and there is no extra credit. The exams are closed book. No calculator, cell phone, camera, or other electronic devices that are capable of storing information are allowed during the exams. Backpacks should be left in front of the classroom during the exam. Each Midterm will be 50 minutes long and the final will be 2 hours long. There will be no make-ups for the Midterms. If you do not take the midterm, you will be assigned a zero unless you supply documents for medical or family emergency to the Professor. If you miss one midterm for medical or family emergency, your other midterm will count for 50% and your Final will worth 50% of your grade. No one may take the Final Exam early. The grades will be curved. The midterms will consist of short answer questions, multiple-choice, true/false, and other types of questions. The final exam will be all multiple-choice and will be graded by Scantron. Last year’s exams and answers are on the course website. The Final exam will be comprehensive (materials from every lecture will be covered). ADMINISTRATIVE QUESTIONS: See Biology Undergraduate Student Affairs Office, Pacific Hall, Room 1129 for adding/dropping a class, etc. UCSD POLICY ON ACADEMIC INTEGRITY: All academic work will be done by the student to whom it is assigned without unauthorized aid of any kind. Text Book: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by David Nelson and Michael Cox, fourth edition. Exams will be based on lectures and assigned readings only. Date January 4, Monday January 6, Wednesday January 8, Friday January 11, Monday January 13, Wednesday January 15, Friday January 18, Monday January 20, Wednesday January 22, Friday January 25, Monday January 27, Wednesday January 29, Friday February 1, Monday February 3, Wednesday February 5, Friday February 8, Monday February 10, Wednesday February 12, Friday February 15, Monday February 17, Wednesday February 19, Friday February 22, Monday February 24, Wednesday February 26, Friday March 1, Monday March 3, Wednesday March 5, Friday March 8, Monday March 10, Wednesday Lecture 1 2 3 4 5 6 No class 7 Midterm1 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 President day 17 Midterm2 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 Topic Bioenergetics and metabolic concepts Bioenergetics and metabolic concepts Bioenergetics and metabolic concepts Bioenergetics and metabolic concepts Glycolysis Glycolysis Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Glycolysis Reading Chapter 13 Chapter 13 Chapter 13 Chapter 13 Chapter 14 Chapter 14 Chapter 14 Glycolysis regulation Pentose pathway Krebs cycle Krebs cycle Krebs cycle Oxidative phospholylation Oxidative phospholylation Oxidative phospholylation Oxidative phospholylation No class Gluconeogenesis and Glycogen Chapter 14 Chapter 14 Chapter 16 Chapter 16 Chapter 16 Chapter 19 Chapter 19 Chapter 19 Chapter 15 Photosynthesis Photosynthesis Lipids Lipids Lipids lipids Amino Acids Nucleotides Chapter 19 Chapter 19 Chapter 17 & 21 Chapter 17 & 21 Chapter 17 & 21 Chapter 17 & 21 Chapter 18 Chapter 22 March 12, Friday March 19, Friday 25 Final exam Integration and regulation of metabolism ...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 01/04/2010 for the course BICD BIBC102 taught by Professor Zhaoyunde during the Fall '09 term at UCSD.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online