{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Lecture 03 - TAXONOMY the classification of life according...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
BIOLOGY 1001: LECTURE 3 SYSTEMS OF CLASSIFICATION Hierarchical systems of classification: 1.Morphological similarity Linnaean system has seven levels: Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, Species "Species" is only biologically meaningful level 2.Phylogenetic classification - based on shared, derived homologous traits Classification may have any number of levels, depending on the history of the lineage ADAPTATION - any trait that enhances an individual's survival or reproduction MORPHOLOGY - physical characteristic or form of an organism TAXON - a unit of classification
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: TAXONOMY - the classification of life according to type PHYLOGENY - evolutionary history of a group of related taxa CLADE - group of species with common ancestor MONOPHYLETIC GROUP: taxonomic group that includes all descendants of a single common ancestor (e.g. mammals) PARAPHYLETIC GROUP: taxonomic group that is incomplete because it excludes some of the descendants of a particular ancestor (e.g. reptiles) POLYPHYLETIC GROUP: taxonomic group that includes descendants of several different lineages (e.g. pandas)...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}