12-100description - 12-100 Introduction to Civil and...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1 12-100 Introduction to Civil and Environmental Engineering Spring 2008 Course Description: Introduction to selected subfields in the discipline, such as structural engineering, construction project management, and environmental engineering. Problem-solving exercises apply fundamental concepts from these subfields to integrate the steps of analysis, synthesis, and evaluation through individual homework assignments and group projects that require attention to a broad range of issues. The course also exposes the students to issues related to engineering practice such as working in teams, preparing reports, making technical presentations, and respecting ethics. Co-requisites: 21-115, 21-116, 33-106. Instructor: Irving J. Oppenheim (ijo); PH 107A; x82950 Office Hours: MWF after class, or by appointment Graduate Teaching Assistants: Susanna Ehlers, PH 7A, x87567, (sehlers) Karl Greden, PH 207C, x83819, (kgreden) Amelia Wright, PH 7A, x87567, (apwright) Undergraduate Teaching Assistants: Reiko Baugham (abaugham) Chris Fornataro ( cdf) Paz Gilboa (pgilboa) Anna Lenhart (alenhart) Jeff Miller (jfmiller) Ryan Swick (rswick) Corey Tucker (ctucker) Class Location and Time: Porter Hall 125C Monday 2:30-3:20; Wednesday 2:30-4:20; Friday 2:30-3:20 Blackboard Web Site: http:// www.cmu.edu/blackboard/
Image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon