{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Lecture 19 - /13/08 Four Movements Allegro(fast movement...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Lecture 19 11/13/08 Four Movements Allegro (fast movement) – Andante (slow movement) – Dance tempo – Allegro 1 st movement--Sonata form 4 F T A : 8 N ( Neoclassical music structure), a term coined by later scholars, consists of three sections. Three main sections in Sonata form-- 1. Exposition S y 4 t N N —1 st theme and 2 nd (counter) theme. In the following example, the 1 st theme occurs in I key and the 2 nd theme occurs in the V theme. I (Tonic), II, III, IV (Sub Dominant) , V (Dominant), VI, VII, VIII For example: C D E F G A B C Modulation ( moving from one dominant tone to the other) O 3 V s : 2. Development N — the development following Exposition. Usually ends with the original Tonic key. 3. Recapitulation S y 4 t N : — restatement of the two themes in the Exposition 2 nd movement--Binary form : N 2 4 two themes repeated with slight variations Note: Slow movement, which often occurs in 2 nd movement, only consists of Exposition and Recapitulation. 3 rd movement--Minuet & trio form : a form with repeated three themes (ABA) : 4 th movement--Rondo form (ABACADA) 3 V s h O Beethoven
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.
  • Spring '08
  • Beethoven, Sonata form, Slow Movement, Neoclassical music structure, original Tonic key, Heroic style period

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online