Lecture# 1 - BILD 3: Organismic and Evolutionary Biology...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–5. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1 BILD 3: Organismic and Evolutionary Biology Dr. Joshua Kohn 1258 Muir Biology 534-8233 jkohn@ucsd.edu Course Website is on WebCT http://webct.ucsd.edu Or you can Google “UCSD WebCT” • If you are normally enrolled or waitlisted in this class you should already have access to the website. • On website you will find: – Course information and syllabus – PowerPoint lectures as .pdf files with six or three slides per page. – Announcements as things come up. – A forum for asking questions related to course material. This will be monitored by TA’s but to ask a question of Dr. Kohn, please email him directly ( jkohn@ucsd.edu ) with BILD 3 in the subject line.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
2 TA’s TA Contact Alison Bray abray@ucsd.edu Kevin Chang kchang@ucsd.edu Michael Conte mconte@ucsd.edu Lani Gleason lgleason@ucsd.edu Anna Gruzman agruzman@ucsd.edu Tobin Hammar thammar@ucsd.edu Prashanthi Kandevel pkandave@ucsd.edu Hannah Lee hal006@ucsd.edu Omar Mohtar omohtar@ucsd.edu Anoop Neboori aneboori@ucsd.edu Peter Nguy pnguy@ucsd.edu John Pham j1pham@ucsd.edu Spenser Troiano stroiano@ucsd.edu Liz Uhlig euhlig@ucsd.edu Chelsea Wong cew001@ucsd.edu Christine Young cvyoung@ucsd.edu Course Organization • Lectures Tu-Thur. 9:30-11:00 Price Theater • One 50-minute section per week (none in the first week, none on mid-term week, none on Memorial day week). • Quizzes given in sections (drop lowest score) • 1 Mid-term May. 5 in class (150pts) • Final Exam June. 9 8:00-11:00 (250pts) Here. • 460 total points Section sign up Sign up for discussion sections will be online with you student PID ( http://sections. ucsd . edu/ ). I will open enrollment at 5 PM Wednesday, April 1. If you are on the wait list, you may add your preference. Add more than one in order of preference. If you are then enrolled in the class you will automatically be enrolled in section if there is space available. This process is updated every day at 8 AM.
Background image of page 2
3 Discussion Sections There will be no section the 1 st week of class . No sections the week of the midterm. During each section there will be a quiz on the previous week s lecture and reading material. Quizzes are worth 20 pts each. There will be 4 quizzes but the lowest score will be dropped, thus you can receive a total of 60 pts for the quizzes. There will be general discussion and question/answer period after the quiz. You must take the quiz in the section that you signed up for. There will be no make-ups on quizzes for any reason (since we drop the lowest score). TEXT • Campbell, 8th edition, especially units: – 4 (Mechanisms of Evolution) – 5 (The Evolutionary History of Biodiversity) – 8 (Ecology) • You may use an alternative text (e.g. Purvis et al.) or earlier/later edition of Campbell, but it will be up to you to find the chapters that correspond to the lecture content.
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
4 How to do well in this course • Attend lectures and take notes • Attend lectures and take notes • Attend lectures and take notes • Go over those notes sometime within 24 hours of the
Background image of page 4
Image of page 5
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 16

Lecture# 1 - BILD 3: Organismic and Evolutionary Biology...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 5. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online