Five Pillars of Islam

Five Pillars of Islam - • Wudu cleanse parts of body...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Five Pillars of Islam 1. Witnessing (shahadah) Testify no God, but ONE God Muhammad is messenger/prophet Belief in Books of God; angels; prophets; belief in judgment day Accepts entire teaching (Qur’an) 2. Ritual Prayer (Salat) Morning, noon, mid-noon, dinner, bedtime—5 times a day Always face Mecca when pray “Imam”= leader of mosque “Mosque”—(masjd) protestation Community prayer noon on Friday (jumu’ah) only men required (NOT A DAY OF REST) “Allahu Akbar” ”God is Great” “Qiblah”= direction toward Mecca Mihrab= niche; direction toward Mecca Khutbah—Friday sermon Muezzin-one who calls to prayer, usually in minaret of mosque.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Background image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: • Wudu cleanse parts of body before prayer. • Du’a informal prayer 3. Fasting (sawm) • Ramadan (28-30 days) • Cannot eat or drink • At sunset allowed to eat • Thank God for revelation of Qur’an • Every night, 1/30 th of Qur’an is read • End of feast (“eid al fitr” ”Breaking of fast”—3 days 4. Almsgiving (Zakat=to purify) giving to charity • 2-5% of what you own to poor; expect nothing in return. • Widows and Orphans (primary recipients) 5. Pilgrimage (Hajj) • 2 million people • Eid al Adha festival...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 05/30/2010 for the course TRAD 104 taught by Professor Freeble during the Spring '08 term at Arizona.

Page1 / 2

Five Pillars of Islam - • Wudu cleanse parts of body...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online