Week 7 CheckPoint Assignment

Week 7 CheckPoint Assignment - The three main types of...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The three main types of firewalls are network-level firewall, circuit-level firewall, and application-level firewall. Network-level firewalls are fast, and they are built into most network. Network-level firewalls work at the individual packet level, inspecting specific fields within the packets and comparing them with user-defined rules that determine whether or not the traffic should be allowed through the firewall. Circuit-level firewall is also known as a transparent proxy firewall. A transparent proxy firewall does not modify the request or response beyond what is required for proxy authentication and identification. Circuit-level firewall represent the second-generation of firewall technology, monitor TCP handshaking between packets to make sure a session is legitimate. Traffic is filtered based on specified session rules and may be restricted to recognized computers only. Circuit-level firewalls hide the network itself from the outside, which is useful for denying access to intruders. But they don't filter individual packets.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 06/10/2010 for the course IT IT242 taught by Professor Jordan during the Spring '10 term at Arlington Baptist College.

Page1 / 3

Week 7 CheckPoint Assignment - The three main types of...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online