{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Exam 2 review session (Chapter 17 and 18)

Exam 2 review session (Chapter 17 and 18) - Review Session...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–9. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style 6/13/10 Review Session for Exam 2 Testing Chapters 17 and 18 as well as all previous Chapters (including organic I)
Image of page 1

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
6/13/10 Exam 2 (100 pts total) 1-5: Multiple choices (30 pts) 5: 12 pts (synthesis): show me the product 5: 12 pts (mechanism) 6: 12 pts (synthesis): 66 pts level 6 7: 12 pts (synthesis) + 12 pts (synthesis) 8: 10 pts (mechanism)
Image of page 2
6/13/10 R Y O Nu C Nu R Y O TCAI R Nu O + Y Nuclephiles: C, N, O, H, etc. One Mechanism
Image of page 3

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
6/13/10 One Reaction R OH O R Cl O SOCl 2 R'CH 2 CN R CH 2 OH R MgBr R H O R OR 1 O R NR 1 R 2 O R O O O R 2 R OH O or R H O H R R 1 O R R 1 OH R 1 Nuclephiles: C, N, O, H, etc.
Image of page 4
6/13/10 Interconversion R 2 N - RO - O RCO - X - Increasing basicity Increasing leaving ability
Image of page 5

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style 6/13/10 Organic II is all about… Nucleophile (C, O, N, S, etc.) + Carbonyl
Image of page 6
Click to edit Master subtitle style 6/13/10 Mechanism is all about… Nucleophile + Carbo cation + (Carbonyl)
Image of page 7

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
6/13/10 1. Except in simple cases, start from the product and work backwards (RETROsynthesis) 2. Look for the " skeleton " of the starting material in the product.
Image of page 8
Image of page 9
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern