Video 7-9 - Nicole Willock Video Program Notes Video 7 I...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Nicole Willock Video Program Notes Video # 7 I. Composer : Ireland Title of Piece : Piano Music Instrumentation : piano II. Lecture Notes : John Ireland is an English Composer. He was quite established during his lifetime, but has been neglected until recent years. The efforts of the John Ireland Society are trying to change that. His music is experiencing a revival. Ireland is known for his chamber music. All six movements were composed between 1917 and 1937. III. Biographical Information on Composer : IV. Musical Description and Personal Reaction : Cypress – the first movement starts off with a dreary tone to it. It could be a very calming and soft sound if it weren’t for the harsh sound the notes make when the high and low notes are played between each other. After a pause, the tone starts to form. There doesn’t seem to be a consistent tone to the movement. Chelsea Reach – The tone is immediately soft and flows until it is disrupted with those harsh notes again. The rhythm seems to disappear and then come back again as the piece moves forward. The movement reminds me of a picture perfect house until it gets picked up in a tornado and is all mixed up in a crazy whirlwind and finally calms back down. The volume is also constantly changing where some notes are played with fortissimo and some pianissimo. The tone is not as frustrating to listen to as Helps’ music, but it still enough to put somebody on edge. I don’t like how there is so much of a contrast between the volume levels. It is difficult to hear the music when he plays really softly. This is the first piece that doesn’t really crescendo. The change in volume is very abrupt. Amberley Wild Brooks – This movement has the soft, warm, flowing tone at the beginning like the last. It has the interrupted notes like the last, but are not as much of a contrast at first. The crazy cyclone of notes comes right before the pause and then the flowing tone returns to the piano again. April – The music sounds like a tune from a music box. The movement doesn’t have any harsh changes like the previous ones. The movement still doesn’t flow very well. The rhythm is a little more defined than the other movements too because the sounds are not all over the place. The piece has the crescendo to it, but it is not gradual. Soho Forenoons – The rhythm starts out with a mezzo forte volume at a presto tempo+. . The tone is light, happier, and not as crazy as the other movements. The volume does get louder and softer gradually, but not for a very long period of time. This piece has the best rhythm so far out of all the movements.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Video # 7 I. Composer : Debussy Title of Piece : Sonate pour Violon et Piano Instrumentation : violin and piano II. Lecture Notes : Debussy’s place in music is assured. He lived from 1852-1918. The Sonata for Violin and Piano was the last major work he wrote. It is a major piece in history. III.
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 7

Video 7-9 - Nicole Willock Video Program Notes Video 7 I...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online