Soc Study Guide 12 13 15

Soc Study Guide 12 13 15 - Study Guide - Exam 4 Chapters...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Study Guide - Exam 4 Terms: Myths about motherhood Mead’s theory of the social self: - George Herbert Mead saw the self as the basis of humanity that develops not out of biological urges but as a result of social interaction - The infant is a tabula rasa (Latin for blank state), with no inborn predisposition to behave in any particular way. - Stage 1 : Imitation (roughly birth to 2) – the infant doesn’t distinguish between self and others. He/she learns by mimicking significant others (primarily parents, but also siblings, teachers, and peers) - Stage 2 : Play (roughly 2 to 6) – as children begin to use language & continue to interact with significant others they distinguish “self” & “other”. The child learns social norms, especially that he/she is expected to behave in certain ways. The child also begins to understand other roles in “let’s pretend” and other kinds of play - Stage 3 : Games (roughly 6 & older) – as children grow older & interact with a wider range of people, they learn to respond to and fulfill social roles. They learn to play multiple roles & to participate in organized activities (the “generalized other”) Piaget’s Cognitive Development Theory - Jean Piaget was interested in the growing child’s efforts to understand his or her world, to learn how to adapt to that world, and to develop an independent identity - In the 4 major developmental stages, Piaget traced the acquisition of such abilities as differentiating oneself from the external world, learning to use language & symbols, understanding the perspective of another person, & learning to think & reason in abstract terms about the past, the present, & the future - Sensorimotor Stage (birth to 2) – the child develops a physical understanding of her/his environment through touching, seeing, hearing, & moving around. The child learns the concept of object permanence (object exists when it isn’t there) - Preoperational Stage (2 to 7) – children learn to use symbols (ex: learn to represent a car with a block, moving the block around). They learned to use language to express increasingly complex ideas. However, they still have difficulty seeing things from another person’s point of view - Concrete Operational Stage (8 to 12) – Children learn to discern cause & effect: they can anticipate possible consequences of an action without having to try it out. They begin to understand the views of others. They also understand that quantities remain the same even when their shape or form changes - Formal Operational Stage (8 to 12) – Children can reason using abstract concepts. They can understand future consequences & evaluate the probable outcomes of several alternatives. They can evaluate their own thoughts & consider major Erickson’s Psychosocial Development - Erik Erikson is one of the few theorists whose explanation of human development encompassed the entire lifespan rather than just childhood &
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
adolescence. In each of the 8 stages, the developing person faces a specific
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 07/23/2010 for the course SOCY 103 taught by Professor Ban during the Winter '09 term at CofC.

Page1 / 10

Soc Study Guide 12 13 15 - Study Guide - Exam 4 Chapters...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online