eng4hw1 - can be repeated many times before the finals...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Kenny Yu ENG4 HW#1 Tuesday A02 1/12/10 The design process models in the past described in the lecture and in the text are both very similar. They both organize the creative ideas and processes used to satisfy a need or solve a problem. The traditional design process follows six major steps: problem identification, preliminary ideas, design refinement, analysis, optimization, and documentation. All designs all start from an idea or a problem and ends with documentation of the design. In the lecture, it says that some designs do not make it to the last step, documentation, because there may be setbacks through the design process that may require backtracking. In the text, it says that stages 4 and 5 are the only stages that
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: can be repeated many times before the finals design is chosen. The concurrent design process models described in the lecture and in the text are different in some ways. In the lecture, the concurrent design process includes the express, test, cycle (ETC) model and the act, reflect, change (ARC) model while in the text, the concurrent design process uses computer-aided design/drafting (CAD) database applications. The CAD database gives technical information to the manufacturing, marketing and sales, and training departments along with the engineers. This process uses graphical display to carry out the design. Instead of graphics, the ETC and ARC model focuses on using thoughts and visualization....
View Full Document

Ask a homework question - tutors are online