General Physiology_Nohe_Date_040610

General Physiology_Nohe_Date_040610 - Chapter 9 Muscle...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chapter 9: Muscle There are three types of muscle – cardiac and skeletal (known as striated) and smooth Muscles move due to mysosin binding to actin In all three types myosin and actin interaction is regulated by calcium ions which are linked to the membrane potential. Skeletal Muscle Composed of many muscle fibers Myofibrils are the subunits of muscle fibers The subunit of myofibrils are the sarcomeres Sarcomeres are composed of thick filaments called myosin which are anchored in place by titin fibers o Thin filaments in the sarcomere are called actin and are anchored to the z lines wich are at the ends of the sarcomere o The h zone contains no actin and gets thinner as actin moves toward the center o A cross section of a sarcomere shows that there is a hexagon structure of thin filaments around the thick which increases the density of the fibers present o Each myosin is surrounded by six actin which can each in turn interact with 3 myosin Contraction (shortening) of muscle fibers
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 08/30/2010 for the course BISC 306 taught by Professor Stephens during the Spring '08 term at University of Delaware.

Page1 / 2

General Physiology_Nohe_Date_040610 - Chapter 9 Muscle...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online