L10 notes

L10 notes - In later periods the ancient Egyptians...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: In later periods, the ancient Egyptians recognized three great pharaohs who had established three golden ages of Egyptian civilization — these periods are known as the Old, Middle and New Kingdoms. These are times when Egypt was particularly powerful. The first was King Menes who, according to legend, originally unified the country and established the First Dynasty. Egyptologists now divide this first golden age into two periods, the Archaic Period (Early Dynastic) composed of Dynasties 1 and 2, and the Old King (Pyramid Age) made up of Dynasties 3-6. The other two rulers re-established unified rule following periods of political upheaval. These are the Middle kingdoms (Dynasties XI- XIII) and the New Kingdom (Dynasties XVIII-XX). There are three periods of major political upheaval in the pharaonic period. These are known as intermediate periods. The First Intermediate was a time of competing dynasties and civil war in Egypt. The Second Intermediate period saw the invasion of Lower Egypt by Asiatics from Syria and Palestine and the...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 09/13/2010 for the course AR 100 taught by Professor Danti during the Spring '09 term at BU.

Page1 / 2

L10 notes - In later periods the ancient Egyptians...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online