Cosmology_Study_Sheet_2 - Study Sheet on Buddhist Cosmology...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Study Sheet on Buddhist Cosmology Based on Inagaki, Hisao. The Three Pure Land Sutras: A Study and Translation from Chinese . Kyoto: Nagata Bunshodo, 1995, 386–387; Sadakata, Akira. Buddhist Cosmology : Philosophy and Origins . 1st English ed. Tokyo: K ō sei Pub. Co., 1997, with modifications. 1. Divisions of Time and Cosmic Cycles a. one kalpa =8 yuga i. yuga occur in cycles of four beginning with the auspicious k ṛṭ a yuga and progressing to the nadir, the kali yuga ii. after a cycle of four yuga , the cycle repeats beginning with another kali yuga and progressing to an apogee with another k ṛṭ a yuga iii. after one cycle of eight yuga the whole cycle repeats b. mah ā kalpa =80 kalpa i. each mah ā kalpa encompasses the creation and destruction of a great chiliocosm of 1 billion Sumeru-centered world systems ii. each mah ā kalpa is divided into four periods of twenty kalpa 1. period of creation 2. period of duration 3. period of destruction (dissolution) 4. period of annihilation (nothingness)...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 09/29/2010 for the course RELIGION 43 taught by Professor Prasad,l during the Fall '08 term at Duke.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online