{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

applied cryptography - protocols, algorithms, and source code in c

No action shall be taken on such an issue until it is

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Clipper, Skipjack, and escrowed encryption chips. Previous Table of Contents Next Products | Contact Us | About Us | Privacy | Ad Info | Home Use of this site is subject to certain Terms & Conditions, Copyright © 1996-2000 EarthWeb Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduction whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of EarthWeb is prohibited. Read EarthWeb's privacy statement. To access the contents, click the chapter and section titles. Applied Cryptography, Second Edition: Protocols, Algorthms, and Source Code in C (cloth) Go! Keyword Brief Full Advanced Search Search Tips (Publisher: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.) Author(s): Bruce Schneier ISBN: 0471128457 Publication Date: 01/01/96 Search this book: Go! Previous Table of Contents Next ----------- 25.2 National Computer Security Center (NCSC) The National Computer Security Center, a branch of the NSA, is responsible for the government’s trusted computer program. Currently, the center evaluates commercial security products (both hardware and software), sponsors and publishes research, develops technical guidelines, and generally provides advice, support, and training. The NCSC publishes the infamous “Orange Book” [465]. Its actual title is the Department of Defense Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria, but that’s a mouthful to say and the book has an orange cover. The Orange Book attempts to define security requirements, gives computer manufacturers an objective way to measure the security of their systems, and guides them as to what to build into their secure products. It focuses on computer security and doesn’t really say a lot about cryptography. The Orange Book defines four broad divisions of security protection. It also defines classes of protection within some of those divisions. They are summarized in Table 25.2. Table 25.1 CCEP Modules Application Voice/low-speed data Computer High-speed data Next Generation Type I Winster Tepache Foresee Countersign I Type II Edgeshot Bulletproof Brushstroke Countersign II Sometimes manufacturers say things like “we have C2 se...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online